Burning bridges, and Beautiful Ireland

Pink Floyd’s “Shine On You Crazy Diamond” has long been a favourite for me.

But today for the first time I actually read the history of the song, and I was – slightly taken aback. For the first time I understand what they mean with “you wore out your welcome with random precision”. Well, that ties right in with one of my three words for 2021: Boundaries.

[Here’s the link; educate yourselves! https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shine_On_You_Crazy_Diamond]

It also ties in well with the audiobook I’m listening to – Stephen Covey’s “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People”. The habit I’m revising right now is “Win-Win – or No Deal”.

This is interesting, because while most people tend to think just “win”, they don’t really care if they hurt or benefit another as long as they win, of course in the long run win-win is the only stable strategy. But there are enough people who don’t want to play; they either want to see you lose (or they don’t feel they have won), or they want to sacrifice themselves to see you win. Neither is healthy. So “Win-win, or no deal at all” is a position one can take and be pretty immovable about it.

And “or no deal” is about setting boundaries. Nobody sacrifices themselves. Nobody pushes another over.

Rare sight: You don’t often spot them courting

2 thoughts on “Burning bridges, and Beautiful Ireland

  1. I’m coming to see you, I really am as soon as this pandemic mess is over. Have to cross boundaries though! Seriously, brilliant idea – never thought of it that way but you’re right. Things only really work out when every is happy. Well said!

    • Yess my friend, do!! I’m waiting with a coffee. Do not be shocked at the state of my house. Lockdown with everyone home has left its footprint of clutter grrrr…. 😀

Your thoughts on this:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.