Mirrors, mirrors on the wall…

… where the heck must I put you all??

๐Ÿ™‚

We’re gradually moving into my deceased M-i-l’s house, as she wanted us to do.ย  It’s no small feat moving a family home of 19 years plus the people in it; more complicated by the fact that her house is also full – of her own furniture, household, niknaks, and clutter.ย  (I suspect when I wrote the post that was highlighted by WP 2 weeks back, I was already in pre-move terror.)

M-i-l loved mirrors, for the way they make rooms look bigger and reflect light.

I find mirrors useful while teaching.ย  (It helps turn violin kids into conceited little narcissists – for more tips, check out this post ๐Ÿ˜‰. )ย  There are various techniques I show students in front of a mirror so they can monitor themselves while practising.ย  When I was teaching in a primary school in Brooklyn, I had the privilege of being given one of the backstage dressing rooms for a studio.ย  One entire wall was a mirror.ย  (I remember a particularly funny lesson I had with a young boy who decided to practise comedy and faces during his lesson!)

But in M-i-l’s house, even I feel there are too many.ย  I suspect them of breeding.ย  Wherever I go, there is movement in the corner of mine jaded eye, something watching… from the nearest mirror. I even managed to find a place in it where one is caught between two mirrors…ย  (Granny Weatherwax advises strongly against it).ย  I own two mirrors myself that will still have to find places in there…ย  (since childhood, though my kids can vouch that no amount of mirrors have helped me develop dress sense yet.)

Narcissism:

E and I had a little competition, but she stands no chance against me when we compete for narcissism.ย  She’s now working on bumping up hers via social media “likes”.ย  Luckily all the mirrors in the house we’re moving into will probably upp++ my scores…ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

Btw her awesome post on how to get violin students to become conceited, is here.

Totally off-topic:ย  Cloves cure cancer

http://www.realnatural.org/cloves-stop-the-growth-of-several-cancers/

Quoting:

“Cloves have been used for numerous types of infections, including those caused by bacteria, viruses and fungi. They also have a way of deadening pain, which is why they are often used for relieving teeth infections. Traditional therapies have used cloves for gastrointestinal disorders, disorders of the kidneys and spleen, and for pain.”

“As it turns out, cloves are not simply antibacterial, antifungal, antiviral and carminative: Cloves are also potent anticancer agents.”

The tests were apparently done on various different human cancer cell lines.

“The extract that proved the most efficaciousย was an ethanol extract. This means basically that the cloves were soaked in alcohol and the resulting solution was used (donโ€™t self-medicate โ€“ talk to your doctor). More specifically, the cloves were soaked in 95% alcohol for 72 hours at room temperature. The whole extract was then concentrated.”ย  [Cautionary note by gipsika – watch out what alcohol you use, especially if you’re planning to take the tincture internally.ย  The difference between alcohol containing 0% Xylol and 0.5% Xylol is the difference between alcohol and poison.ย  If in doubt, distill the alcohol yourself.ย  While you’re at it, try making some moonshine.ย  Invite me when you’re done.ย  I’d love to try it.]

If one runs with the concept that cancer is caused by virus or other microbes (the “alternative” theory to the theory “we don’t know what causes it, but search in the chromosomes why don’t you, or see what happens if you cut out XYZ from your diet”), then it is clear to see how an antimicrobial agent can have a powerful impact.

A friend once told me I’m like a dog with a bone.ย  Once I’m onto something I won’t let go of it, just keep on gnawing at it.ย  I guess I’m like that about cancer right now.


 

ย Even off-fer-topiccer:

Reviews for Marie and for me are now live on P’kaboo Blog.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚ย  (Of course they are also alive on Goodreads & Reader’s Favourite where they were first posted.)

marie-review

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Mirrors, mirrors on the wall…

  1. Cloves can cure *all* cancer? Um. Would depend on staging surely. Good for toothache apparently as clove oil but I use the vodka mouthwash as and when. I cook with cloves in Indian curries so we have a regular intake though.

    I’ve written about three and four (SWS). Not retelling the story, but more what stood out for me. Need to re-read Morrigan I suspect now. Then I’ll write on my blog. At some point. It’s a good series. What’s interesting is that you have strong characters for both men and women: Radomir and Federi are fantastic, Paean, Perdita, Ailyss, Dana are great. And not forgetting the AI of the Solar Wind.

    And I was pleasantly surprised with Marie’s after the splat kerpow of the intro. It morphed into a much more thoughtful book.

    But I’m not a YA so, who knows? โ€ฆ Just a middle-aged view ๐Ÿ˜€

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ *smiling all the way* I just love that you’re enjoying the SW series! Thank you, you’re making this writer’s day, over and over again.

      I have to say it was the actual splat kerpow that pulled me into “Cold Hand”, into the deep end so to say. I enjoy following her mind trails – it is just amazing where she goes. Would you like me to send you a copy (ebook, sadly don’t have paperback) of “The Everywhen Angels”? It’s a lot more philosophical (and I thought, deeper) than “Cold Hand”.

      I’ve been reproofing “Assassin” – spell-checking, finding errors, fixing inconsistencies. I think at the time of publishing, in 2011, we were both so over-edited on it that we went blind to certain details. I don’t know if I’m catching all of it by now, can only hope so. ๐Ÿ™‚

      LOL cloves and cancer: Yes they are potently antiseptic. (Have used them on teeth too. Old family remedy.) But one has to be suspicious if something has only been tested on cell lines. It could have been the alcohol – I didn’t read the original article, just the link I posted. Alcohol kills any tissue culture as sure as anything, we call it a “fixative” :-D. I doubt any amount of clove will help with retinoblastoma though, that is very well researched and almost all cases are purely a recessive genetic mutation… I guess I just wanted to have an alternative for Cannabis oil that is being pushed everywhere anti cancer

    • I went on Goodreads, thank you, your reviews are super!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ll start “spreading” them in another two or three days to give the ones I reblogged today some breathing space ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sorry, I was a bit brain-drained after all my adventures! I’ll try and give it some space for my blog review, the wait before I re-read The Morrigan. There’s no rush for your publicity anyway is there?

  2. Characters plus adventure plus surprises plus imagination = good.

    And the splat kerpow nearly had me putting it down. But, I do persist. Although sometimes it gets worse ๐Ÿ˜€ rather than better. Do try to give the benefit though. Angels maybe later, when I’m booked out. Can I let you know? I really want the next SW actually right now! NOW!

    I gave you the main ones, that apply to all the series, apostrophes, dashes not hyphens, repetition, and dubious Spanish. There’s one in Raider or FF where Perds (so maybe FF) is stuck in Space Base and feeds Rads a calypso coffee with rum. Then talks about getting him drunk on brandy. Seemed illogical to me.

    Sometimes, there are more errors in the first books in series oddly enough.

    So best to drink all the time? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Whoops. Have to check on that alcoholic intervention. ๐Ÿ˜€

      I think on second reading the Morrigan might give an entirely different impression seeing that you already know what is going on… I’ll email you! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks again. I’ll hang in there with “Everywhen Angels”, yes pls let me know, whenever.

  3. Pingback: Cracking the whip – the red ant

Your thoughts on this:

