How the Heyerdahl…

kontiki

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a while.

Kon-Tiki has been on my to-read list ever since I was a teenager; somehow I never managed to get my claws on that book long enough.  The other day I picked it up in a second-hand store, and started reading…

Within the first paragraph, I was captured, taken hostage and enslaved.

I’d always been puzzled by the concept of how a handful of men could make it across the Pacific on nothing but a raft.  How that raft didn’t sink in the first storm.  How sharks didn’t pick them off their float like Jack Sparrow picks peanuts… let me not complete that.  (Urrrrgh!)  So I knew there was a good story in there, and I love sea stories.

What I hadn’t bargained on was the easy, enthralling style of the author (Thor Heyerdahl himself, as this is a true recounting of his voyage).  I hadn’t expected to find humour, and tons of it.  And if you thought a voyage like that would be boring, water and nothing but water, think again!  There are lots of things except water in the Pacific, and the water itself can be far from boring.  It is incredible how the Southern Equatorial current and the trade wind become their friends, how they play with the wildlife and how they eventually realize that the current may very well turn into their demise.

Thor Heyerdahl is not only a hero and a fool for planning and going through with such an adventure, a serious researcher going into the history of both Peru and Polynesia, and a politician for his talent for twisting arms where funding and practical help is concerned, but he is an ace author. If you haven’t yet read Kon-Tiki, and you love reading adventure – go ahead, treat yourself!  Some stories just never get old.


 

P’kaboo Book Ad: (see, I didn’t forget this time!  😀 )

I wish I could say P’kaboo published Kon-Tiki!  Just to keep you busy, here’s one of ours, a freebie on Smashwords, a short novelettinola, “The Family Pool”.  Grab your copy while they are free!

familypoolcoverSMSH

The Family Pool

by Lyz Russo

Mary Adams has married into money. At first this is amazing and she is overwhelmed with thankfulness; but as time goes by she begins to realize that all is not well in the wealthy family. She comes upon a creepy volume of genealogy in the library of the house that was given to her and her husband John to live in, and from there, her curiosity turns into an obsession to get to the bottom of it. More

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “How the Heyerdahl…

Your thoughts on this:

