Review: Sonya’s Chickens by Phoebe Wahl

I love the illustrations!

The Book Wars

IMG_20150730_135507

NOTE: I received a copy of Sonya’s Chickens by Phoebe Wahl from Tundra Books for the purpose of review.

I’d been introduced to Phoebe Wahl’s art through my bestie’s tumblr. Her “Domestic =/= Submissive. Feminism is Freedom.” post is what caught my attention, providing me with a lightbulb moment. That’s when I started to pay attention to Wahl’s art. Such beautiful, detailed looks at nature, and such celebratory depictions of feminine bodies and femininity. The longer I spent gazing at her art, the easier it was to forget that cities were a thing, let alone the fact that I was a city girl who was sometimes scared of her body.

SOURCE: http://bit.ly/1E8vhIg

When I heard that she had a book coming out, I couldn’t wait. A whole picturebook worth of Phoebe Wahl’s art? Yes, please! And I wasn’t disappointed. Sonya’s Chickens was (by some happy coincidence) delivered to my apartment a mere…

View original post 333 more words

Your thoughts on this:

