My case against free books

Brilliantly written.

8 thoughts on “My case against free books

  1. One seemingly cannot win. The theory behind allowing books to be read for free is that enough people will go into rave mode about them to generate subsequent sales of the book and/or of others by the same writer. Very occasionally it has worked like that, but mostly one is adding self-insult to the injury of all the blood, sweat and tears of the writing process.
    One problem is that people are far more likely to put a free book on the ‘read later or maybe never’ list than even ones bought very cheaply on a sale. Money spent = value wanted.

    • As a very young gigging musician I once came across a pub owner (hubbs & I were playing in pubs at that point) who didn’t want us to come and play because we were not charging enough. His rationale: “Why are you so cheap? You can’t be any good then, can you?” It’s a lesson that went deep.

  2. I have never subscribed to the free book syndrome. I believe it devalues the worth of the book and the writer. If a person is unwilling, or unable to purchase a book then visit the library. That is one reason why libraries exist.

    Besides, I enjoy owning books so I can read them over and over.
    I like to think there are enough people out there who feel the same way.

Your thoughts on this:

