Reading the Fine Print

Torch Media makes a free browser available, which I thought I’d try (following a recommendation – apparently a good browser) rather than use Google Chromium.

Here’s a part of Torch’s license agreement:

“You acknowledge that, as between You and TorchMedia, You will own all rights, titles and interests in and to any of your content, if applicable, made available on or through the Service. You hereby grant TorchMedia, its licensees, successor and assigns, a perpetual, irrevocable, non-exclusive, royalty- free, sub-licensable, transferable right and license to use, edit, modify, reproduce, distribute, display, transmit, exhibit, broadcast, stream, synchronize, sell, license, assign, create derivative works or otherwise exploit such content, in whole or in part, in all media throughout the world. You agree to waive any moral rights contained therein.”

 

  • Torch covers their own back by making you responsible for holding the copyright for everything you put online.  (This is good and correct and in line with the digital rights protection act).
  • HOWEVER: Torch then proceeds to grab all these rights from you in the next sentence!

Let’s say for argument’s sake, I upload one of my authors’ ebooks to Amazon, using the Torch browser.

By using the Torch browser, I’ve given the copyright to Torch for free, of the entire content (the ebook, the cover art, all of it!), without any legal recourse should they decide to publish / sublicense it or make derivatives from it without even letting me know.

I don’t think I can consent to using the Torch browser.  I think Google’s evil is still the lesser.

By the way:

Did you realize Facebook has something similar in their terms of use?

If you post images of your children on Facebook, Facebook owns those images.  They grab the full rights to these photos, to do with as they please.

This is why I’d like to ask my authors nicely:  When promoting your books, please never post more than a low-res, small image (say, 300 or 400 px max) on Facebook.  Enough for people to see and recognize the book but not enough for the copyright monsters to rip the rights on those covers.

And beware how much of a preview you’ll allow on Facebook.  Remember:  You paste it there, you’ve given them all the rights.

Okay?

 

7 thoughts on “Reading the Fine Print

  1. Torch should be torched. What a cheek!
    Similarly FB. I wonder about repeating WP posts there as I do currently. Presumably, as these consist of an excerpt and a link, they would only be able to get their paws on the ‘featured image’…

    • They would get their paws on a thumbnail version of that image. Very low-res, I wouldn’t worry, they can’t sell it. That’s the basis on which I don’t mind posting anything and everything from P’kaboo. Those images are too small to mean anything. Beware though: all the text you put on Facebook becomes theirs to use.

  2. “This is why I’d like to ask my authors nicely: When promoting your books, please never post more than a low-res, small image (say, 300 or 400 px max) on Facebook. Enough for people to see and recognize the book but not enough for the copyright monsters to rip the rights on those covers.”

    Got it!

    I didn’t realise Torch did that. When I recommended it to you it was just because it seems to work more smoothly than the other browsers I have.

    • Sweetness, I seriously appreciate the recommendation! I love trying programs that actually work. But I’m also a compulsive reader of small print. I would guess 99% of people don’t read it because it’s Fudge Factor 100 – or it might even have changed since you read it, as they do reserve the right to change the rules mid-flight.

      I did figure that you must not know about this as otherwise you wouldn’t be using the program yourself, either. You’d never recommend something you don’t believe in yourself. I do know this. Please don’t feel bad! 🙂

    • Found them. In my “Sanebox”. A completely useless program that adds to the “Junk”, “Spam” and “Trash” folders yet another one so one can play finding easter eggs a little more with one’s emails. I’m definitely going to let the test period of Sanebox expire and not buy the product.

      Congrats on the review! Pls tell her, go right ahead, we’re ready. & the Amazonian versions will be ready in a few days…

    • :-/ It doesn’t seem to want me to respond! This is the 3rd attempt. Yes I found them, in my “Sanebox” (anti-punt for Sanebox: Another folder in which emails can vanish….) Congrats on the review! Pls do tell her to go right ahead, we’re ready. We’ve got the functional pdf and the Amazonian versions will be ready in a few, still haven’t figured out the epub but either it will work or I’ll remove the option. No ‘broken’ book will leave P’kaboo.

      Btw I’m ‘batch-uploading’, including the Honeymead books.

Your thoughts on this:

