How Water Learnt to Play (Ted Hughes)

How water began to play

by Ted Hughes

Water wanted to live
It went to the sun it came weeping back
Water wanted to live
It went to the trees they burned it came weeping back
They rotted it came weeping back
Water wanted to live
It went to the flowers they crumpled it came weeping back
It wanted to live
It went to the womb it met blood
It came weeping back
It went to the womb it met knife
It came weeping back
It went to the womb it met maggot and rottenness
It came weeping back it wanted to die

It went to time it went through the stone door
It came weeping back
It went searching through all space for nothingness
It came weeping back it wanted to die

Till it had no weeping left

It lay at the bottom of all things

Utterly worn out                  utterly clear


 

This poem always strikes me.

Not “as” anything.  Just strikes me.  It’s a striking poem.

Just finished the first draft of the Nanathingie novel.  It’s NOT YA.  A bit too grim in places.   But:  A complete story, with all the elements a complete story has to have.  There are one or two loose ends I still need to wrap up, e.g. the mystery of the blackened fingers.  They’re wrapped up in my mind… but I forgot to put them in.

So in a way, I win.  But the website says I can’t win before 25th November.  Why not?  If the book is finished?  At least, it didn’t take long, I can move forward with the rest of the schedule”:

9 Nov: Studio Concert (that will be fun!)

11 Nov: Performance of the WHC kids – choir and ad hocs – at prize giving (that doesn’t mean they get a prize, though I feel they ought to)

From 11 Nov:  My son writes exams.  One per day.  Poor Ray.  And it starts with Mom unable to help him study on day 2.  That means I have to help him on 10th for the 11th and 12th.

24 Nov: 2 performances, one with Daniel Keet’s orchestra “A la Breve”

24 Nov and also a gig with Divertimento Ensemble, in the evening, at a Christmas service.

And inbetween?  I still have to fetch the music for the 24th orchestral performance; make brochures, business cards and biz lit of the studio for WHC promo; probably some time attend a meeting about next year at WHC, and all this with too little capital.

I also have to go on a round-trip putting posters on notice boards for people to call us for violin lessons.

And remember:

clickmebutton

 

6 thoughts on “How Water Learnt to Play (Ted Hughes)

    • 😀 Thanks Col!! This was the comment I was angling for 😉 Trust you to know this and feed it to me!

      About 53 000 words. But now that it’s “achieved” I’m going back and actually refining the story, bringing an extra line in, another character… it will be longer of course, and hopefully better. But as it stands right now it has all the elements a complete story needs.

    • Thanks! 😉 I had to try it once. I’m now tempted to enter another novel that I’ve half-written and lack the vooma to complete. Time pressure is a wonderful thing.

Your thoughts on this:

