Wednesday: Literacy Month Celebration

Glenstantia Library, Wednesday 11 September:

The Glenstantia Library is holding Literacy Month celebrations this coming Wednesday, from 15h to 18h.  Features include a young South African author speaking about his latest release; and P’kaboo Publishers speaking to an audience of school children and teachers about what we do, how we go about e-publishing and what paperback publishing entails; our books and our authors; and the competitions we have running currently.

Literacy_Month_Celebration_2013

 

Thank you to Therese Els for organising this!

December 20, Launch of Lupa, Forest Circle Quest and Freedom Fighter at Glenstantia Library

(Image:  Library User Group, and audience at the launch in December)

23 thoughts on “Wednesday: Literacy Month Celebration

    • Hey Ark. We’ll see what comes of this. Pls also remember to rally friends and fam to click on books, remember the FB contest goal is to get 50 shares on a book.

      I think sooner or later I’ll post an article about the (theoretically) exponential nature of such things

    • I have done all the Facebook links etc and a post here on WP
      I don’t mind doing my bit in the trenches but after the debacle on that other site with that competition I am uncomfortable doing too much heavy pushing as it tends to sound a bit ‘iffy’ and I struggle like hell to self-promote in this regard. I can just about get away with it using my Altered Ego,
      This is why I struggle with the idea of self publishing, I just don’t feel comfortable shouting that people must come and support my writing.

      I reckon there would be a much better response if your WP site was more geared to directing traffic to P’kaboo.
      Like a mirror blog? All posh pics of books and wotnot?
      Really posh header,not so much white space etc
      Or start up another blog specifically for that purpose, maybe?

    • 🙂 Ark there is such a blog. The P’kaboo blog. http://pkaboonews.blogspot.com/
      It’s not a WordPress blog but it’s specifically dedicated to P’kaboo. In fact it existed before the “Ant”. It doesn’t have the same readership specifically because all it does is update & promote about the books.

      In fact you and all my other authors have a say in that blog, you can author articles there if you want (or copy-paste what you’re doing in WP, even).

    • I know this blog, but I keep forgetting the damn thing. This is why I suggested opening one on WordPress, as this is where most of our readership is; even from way back during LD days.

      I believe it would make things easier to direct traffic to if it was a Word Press blog? It would for me, being such an IT nitwit. with the attention span of a gnat.
      Or maybe it just needs a bit more pushing on the Red Ant?

    • Nah, I’m not relocating the blog to WP. It does have a readership, only nobody comments. I understand that, too. What is there to say to a “New releases this month”?

      It’s a lot more important to get regular postings in the Rekord East or Pretoria News. 😉

    • I wasn’t suggesting closing the other blog, merely opening another on WP. Was just a thought. Not for me to tell you your business.
      I don’t mind either way. Whatever you think is best , and as long as that gets people buying the books.

      It’s a lot more important to get regular postings in the Rekord East or Pretoria News. 😉

      Absolutely. Maybe post links to the articles? 🙂

    • Ah, so the img did post! I’m so pleased this works.

      That’s an image of the P’kaboo blog’s readership. Its stats are a little bit lower than this blog but not significantly. It’s just not as interactive, and the reason is exactly that: No posts that rile people up, nothing that causes aggravation to draw out comments (politics, religion, conspiracy theories and their exact opposites… devil’s advocacy… you know how it’s done!)

      But I do think if the actual authors were to start interacting with the readership, they would in fact get some nice comments going.

      You need to understand the flow of links. Links are directional. E.g. the direction of your blog linking to P’kaboo (though P’kaboo also links back to your blog) is mainly in the direction of P’kaboo. A link directs someone away from where they currently are. So I can link outwards to all sorts of things from the P’kaboo Blog, but to get more people to that blog, one needs to point towards it.

      The other reason for the interaction here is of course that we brought our Letterdash crowd with us. The Letterdashians are already a community that knows each other, and many of us have met in person. Friends are more likely to comment on e.o’s blogs.

      Btw did you see that Goodreads gives you a blog with your profile?

    • I don’t quite know how all this Goodreads stuff works either.

      No posts that rile people up, nothing that causes aggravation to draw out comments (politics, religion, conspiracy theories and their exact opposites… devil’s advocacy… you know how it’s done!)

      I can’t understand why a blog must only be confrontational merely to be interactive? Some of the foodie blogs attract loads of comments. As do photo blogs and stuff like that.

      But I do think if the actual authors were to start interacting with the readership, they would in fact get some nice comments going.

      So how do you suggest we get interaction like this off the ground?
      I’m game if you’ve got some cool suggestions.

      Anyhow, what I think doesn’t matter. If you say it works then great.

  1. Oh, I’ve sent an email to Paul asking for a few more details and now await his reply with much interest. It does sound intriguing and exciting, doesn’t it?
    I am flattered you think I am the ”go to” person in your stable for this type of thing. I hope I can live up to expectations.

Your thoughts on this:

