UNO

Mindless fun:  The reason we have kids.

My Tuesday schedule isn’t at all as full as my other days.  Every night I teach until 7h, which severely restricts my mom-time.  I see my kids briefly after school and then my attention belongs to my students.  (Other people’s kids.  It strikes one as horribly unfair; but I have to put food on the table somehow.)

Except on Tuesdays.  Those are amazingly free.  So we went off to Menlyn to buy a pack of UNO cards, and came back, and played!

The “pushy parenting” article(s) made me think.  I’m not a pushy parent.  I’m a pushy teacher, and if I were a manager or boss I’d probably be pushy, too.  I only expect high standards, thank you.  But where my kids are concerned I’m soggy, almost free-range.

Sure I have goals for them.  But they are still so young… and if I die in an accident tomorrow, I don’t want them to remember only strict Mom or absent Mom or Mom sitting working on computer…  never mind if I die tomorrow, it doesn’t need to be that dramatic:  What if they grow up tomorrow?  That is a certainty.

On Saturday we got into the car and drove.  Well, in the morning we first did a tree planting with the Scout Cubs, and both my younger ones were there, and each “adopted”, planted and named a tree.  Meg’s tree is “Pyrol” and Ray’s is “Cian” (after Gian Luigi, the great football star).  Then we had some icy juices and after that we collected Robbie and off we went.  (Hubbs was on his own mission.)  Heading west.  Vague general direction was Rustenburg.  We found a lovely camping spot in the vicinity which we’ll definitely exploit at some point.

Funny enough, the three of them still love being read to.  Especially the home-grown stories; but also the old classics like Winnie-the-Pooh (the original), and anything by Ottfried Preussler (my way of trying to boonder German into my non-German middle child who steadfastly refuses to speak it – except to his little cousin, where he’s suddenly quite fluent!).  Anything that makes them giggle wildly, and I have to admit there’s a fairy tale (as yet unpublished) that we’ve had the privilege of previewing, that they simply can’t get enough of.  By now they know some of the rhymes so well they chant them along as I read them; but they still laugh their heads off at the quirky humour in there.

But more outdoors is definitely on the charts this year.

 

12 thoughts on “UNO

    • I make it sound like I’m so old… But I grew up when the technological age started picking up speed so I have an idea of what it was like in the “good old days”. Kids nowadays don’t seem to appreciate it as much

    • Well we are lucky, because we’re living in a security complex where there are a number of children, and interestingly two homeschooling families. The kids are a bit younger than mine but that doesn’t stop them all from running in a glorious pack and making up games outdoors. I can guarantee you even if they’re immersed in computer games (which is rare enough, usually I only allow it in the holidays), if a friend outside calls their name, the electronic heroes are abandoned. Ice Cream Days indeed. I don’t think we had as much friend interaction as they are getting.

      As for reading & playing board games (LOL, “bored” games), that’s self-defence against boredom. Best thing ever invented, boredom. It causes creativity. I did explain it to them – anyone can play those games, but only creative people can program them, and for that they have to have learnt to be creative. You’re not at all old-fashioned; I see the technological addiction as simply another addiction. It will subside and take its rightful place, alongside other cute toys.

  1. I have always wondered why we use the word “mindless”. To me being mindless is like being on auto-pilot and in this state, we hardly hold the awareness of our surroundings. Should we choose to be mindful however, we would be able to ” be in the moment” and greatly enjoy life.

    Shakti

    • That’s a very thoughtful and valid comment. Thank you! LOL I suppose I used “mindless” in connection with UNO which is largely a game of luck and “poker faces”, as opposed to, e.g., Chess.

  2. That was brilliant quality! I do that type of activity with my grandchildren.
    As to reading: even the oldest (12 nearly) who is a brilliant reader on his own, loves me to read to him as well.

Your thoughts on this:

